(910) 755-3434 sebastian@river18golf.com

Golfer Reviews

Golfer Reviews

“GolfAdvisor Review”

Best course I played this trip. Cart path only the day I played. Fairways and greens were outstanding, particularly greens. The 16th hole, the last part 3 has to be the best utilization of land and engineering on the strand or anywhere in the country. This course was well worth the almost one hour drive.
GolfAdvisor Review By:  “shadrap” – Reviewed on 12/15/2016

“Grand Strand Golf Directors – Thank you Rivers Edge”

I actually played RE in the GSGDA outing yesterday. I have to tell you that it was absolutely fabulous, from the bag drop, to the course and to the dinner and drinks we had an absolutely wonderful time. The new greens are so good and we will be talking RE up in a very positive and powerful way.

Enjoy the rest of your week Mary and thanks again.

Cheers,
Eric

I have played a number of courses in the area and enjoy many of them — The Thistle, Tiger’s Eye, Oak Island, Pine Lakes, Glen Dornoch, Heather Glen and others. Rivers Edge is still, however, my favorite. You can’t beat the layout and you can’t beat the views.  If you’re visiting southeastern North Carolina or the Grand Strand, Rivers Edge is a must play.  You’ll be very happy you did!

GolfAdvisor Review By: “Anonymous” ( 5 stars ) – Reviewed on 04/08/2016

 

Great holes, great conditions

This course is worth the travel. 6 holes on the marsh, streams in the middle of the fairway, great bunkering, and overall excellent condition. Holes 8-9 and 15-18 are worth the greens fee. The course is permitting some of the waste bunkers to grow in as rough, but the rest of the course is excellent. The marsh holes are a true test from the white tees with the tips being a bear. The 9th hole is one of the most spectacular par 5’s on the strand. A plateau fairway with marsh on the left on the drive and a forced carry over the marsh on the second to a 3rd to a narrow sliver of green. A really hard hole but a great hole. Take the time to play this gem in N.C. A 45 Min. drive from MB. but well worth the travel.

TripAdvisor Review By:  “Casey1919” ( 5 stars ) – Visited March 2016

 

“Beautiful course for our group’s outing!  Tremendous design and scenery!”

I took a group of 16 golfers on our annual 4 day golf excursion and River’s Edge was our final stop this year. Though I had only read online reviews about the course, we truly saved the best for last! The course layout was not only set beautifully along the river, it also provided a fun and challenging day for our golfers. Even the golfers that did not perform as well as they would have liked, still enjoyed the scenic view and uniqueness of the course. I initially choose the course because it gave us a course north of Myrtle Beach that we could hit on our way back to PA (we stayed in North Myrtle Beach) but I got a feeling it will become a recurring course for us.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone or any groups considering it.

TripAdvisor Review By:  “NHW2700” ( 5 stars ) – Visited March 2016

 

Hey Jeff,

I just would like to thank you and your staff for the great golf tournament that you all put on today.  Our team were the Hills and Thomas group and we enjoyed everything that you put on for us.  The girls in the kitchen and bar were great and you and your assistant were wonderful also.  The guys outside who helped us with the clubs when we got there were polite and helpful.  Hope to play again at Rivers Edge soon!  Thanks again for the great tournament!
Mary and Ron Hill
Rand and Deb Thomas

 

 

I hope you enjoyed a wonderful Christmas holiday!  I wanted to thank you once again for the kindness you extended “The Bear Tour” this past Saturday.  The weather was perfect, and we practically had the early morning to ourselves.  You were absolutely right about the new greens, and all of the work that’s been done on The Edge.  Even though it was cart path only and kind of sloppy wet, you can plainly see the improvements that have been made, and the quality of the new grass on the greens.  I can’t wait to see it again toward the spring.  Thanks again, Mike!  I hope you have a safe and Happy New Year! Come see us!

Regards, John. 

 

 

“Best view in Shallotte!”

I am from Rocky Mount and have been playing on champion now for 10 years…..we played RE maybe 8 years ago and did not come back because of greens….my friend from Charlotte, friend of charlie’s,…told me about your Sunday Bermuda… We just played Thur and we will be back…..even though they were not able to mow, and I could not get the ball to hole….we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves….. Beautiful layout and we will c u next year….your cart guy out front and Sebastian were great…very good hospitality…. I think your Sunday Bermuda will be a big plus.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

This is my favorite golf course in the entire Myrtle Beach area! Very playable, lots of fun carry’s, scenic well framed views around every corner, and so much fun to sit on the restaurant covered deck and watch groups come in on 18!! The food in very good and drinks from a full bar do not disappoint! We like to go to their driving range and putting green and then finish with lunch even when we don’t have time for 18.

Visited June 2015
Played Rivers Edge this weekend and was so impressed with the new greens and overall condition of the course. The greens are great, they were moderately fast and rolled true. The fairways were in excellent condition, and trimmed with a generous rough, making it a bit more challenging. So glad to see the club took the time to close for 8 weeks, the results were well worth it!
Reviewed August 31, 2015

 

 

“beautiful course on Shallotte river”

Reviewed July 7, 2015

great Arnold Palmer design on the Shallotte river. a lot of demanding carries over marsh area. pick the right tees and you will enjoy and have fun, pick the wrong tees for your skill level and you will be punished in lost balls.

Visited March 2015

“I wanted to pass along an overdue thank you and note that the staff from the pro shop to the starters etc were unbelievably good! You have a great team–and also a fantastic course. We are back in Oct of 2015 and certainly will aim to find a way to play your course again. Thank you and please pass along our appreciation to your staff.”

Regards, Gord – G. Carley – Canada

 

 

This is a very pretty and picturesque course! There’s a ton of hazards and water all over the place. It’s certainly a shotmakers course with blind shots galore. The greens were great! Only downfall was that lots of areas were soggy but that’s to be expected with the amount of rainfall this area has gotten this Summer. Also, I would like to acknowledge their golf staff and rangers. We played early Sunday AM and they were extremely busy with a completely booked tee sheet. They got us out on time and had several rangers on the course ensuring the pace of play. This is paramount to me especially when playing a course that is challenging and so many blind shots. Slow play can be prevented and they did that. They were on top of it the whole time! Well done!!

Prepare to lose plenty of balls and keep the driver in the bag for the most part!

Trip Advisor Submission   – Visited August 2014 (5 Stars)

 

 

Very good and very challenging course played as part of the World-Am competition. Not for your average golfer. Very difficult holes and #9 was a beast. Not for faint of heart.

Mike C – Aurora, IL   – Visited August 2014 (4 Stars)

 

Staff are very friendly. Visit five to six times a year and Timmy greets us with a warm smile and hello each time we come. Course is always in good shape, challenging and picturesque.

Rebecca M. – Patchogue, NY    – Visited September 2014 (5 Stars)

 

We were made very welcome at rivers edge and the starter explained the way to play this course which was very helpful. This Arnold Palmer course is great if only to play the par 5 ninth.Apparently it’s the hardest hole in Carolina. When we got back to the clubhouse the staff just couldn’t do enough for us and served food and drink. If your playing golf in Carolina this is a must!

Stephen G. – London, England  – Visited September 2014 (5 Stars)

 

I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you on behalf of my wife and I for your hospitality on Friday, August 8th. I know that Mother Nature did not cooperate the night before by dumping 5 inches of rain on the course, but we certainly enjoyed it nonetheless. Mr. Palmer has created a wonderful, scenic course that presents a great challenge. It has quickly become one of our favorites on the Grand Strand with only playing it once! We will certainly tell my members and our friends to make sure that they put Rivers Edge on their travel list when they visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Dan Hoban, PGA. Langhorne, PA

 

Thanks very much for your gracious hospitality during our recent visit to Myrtle Beach. Rivers Edge played tough as usual, but is now one of our favorite courses to visit when we come to town. Number 9 still is one of the most challenging holes we play anywhere! Wishing to continued success and thanks again, we had a great time!

Mr. William Doolittle (National Father & Son Participant)

 

Scenic views and just the right mix of easy and challenging holes. Good food at the turn! This is a must play for both locals and out of towners!

Trip Advisor Submission   – Visited June 2014 (4 Stars)

 

I thoroughly enjoyed my round at River’s Edge as the staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The course was in great condition and the greens were fast and smooth.

Trip Advisor Submission – 4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 (4 Stars)

 

I have played this course many times and was concerned about the condition of the greens this spring. In the last few weeks, with the help of the warm weather and some TLC, the greens are back. With the numerous courses in the area, I still find this to be one of top courses. It’s not only challenging but the most picturesque. Don’t miss this course!
Visited July 2014 (5 stars)

– Trip Advisor Submission

 

I love this course, and one day I will be able to beat the 9th hole… It is still one of the hardest holes I have played yet it keeps me coming back for more.

– G. Moore

 

Easily the best golfing experience I have had in 30 years playing the game. There was not one item unattended to by the entire staff from chipping area to the range to the course itself are second to none. If there was ever a time to rate something 6 stars out of a 5 star maximum Rivers Edge is it.

– J. Armstrong Jr.

 

The course was “tight”, but in absolutely superb condition – from tee box through fairway to green. Some of the most beautiful views I’ve ever see on any golf course – the homes blend in and do not detract from the golf course.

– S. Perkins

 

The course is in the best condition it has ever been. Give it a try!! The views are outstanding. I think it is the best Palmer designed course I have ever seen.

– H. Downing

 

I have played this course a number of times now when going on a Myrtle Beach trip with the guys. I have never been disappointed. The facilities are beautiful and all holes are a picture in a frame. The course is challenging, yet there are tees for all handicappers. This is a shot maker’s course for someone with good course management.

– T. Tetterton

 

This is one of the best courses in the Myrtle Beach area, in great condition and a tough layoout, staff is very friendly. Number nine is probably the best hole in Myrtle Beach.

– A.J. Christopher

 

Subscribe to Rivers Edge Updates via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to notifications of new posts, deals, events, and updates by email.

Book Your Tee Time

Click HERE
google5706d4d54eff24fb.html